Log In

Vehicle Insurance Requirements

According to California's Compulsory Financial Responsibility Law, all vehicles that are operated or parked on California roadways must carry financial responsibility (commonly known as insurance).  This law has been enacted so if you make a mistake (which we all may do at some point) and hit another driver or pedestrian, insurance coverage is available to pay for the injury and damage to the other person or vehicle.

Auto Insurance Policy Document

Below are the different types of acceptable financial responsibilities for a vehicle (you are only required to have one of the below financial responsibility types):

  • Option 1. A motor vehicle liability insurance policy (most common option).
  • Option 2. A $35,000 deposit with the DMV.
  • Option 3. DMV-issued self-insurance certificate.
  • Option 4. Surety bond for $35,000 from a company licensed to do business in California.

Needless to say, the most common financial responsibility option is carrying liability insurance.

In California, you are required to have the following minimum liability insurance coverage:

  • Death or bodily injury coverage of $15,000 per person per accident
  • Death or bodily injury coverage of $30,000 to more than one person maximum per accident
  • Property damage: $5,000 maximum per accident