Log In

What are the different types of Driver's Licenses in California?

There are different types of driver's licenses based on the type of vehicle, the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GCWR) of a vehicle, and whether the vehicle is used for commercial or non-commercial purposes.

The most common type of a driver's license is the Class C non-commercial license.  This course will give you the knowledge to obtain a Class C driver's license that provides you the permit to drive the following types of vehicles:

  • 2-axle vehicle with a GCWR of 26,000 lbs. or less.
  • 3-axle vehicle weighing 6,000 lbs. gross or less.
  • Motorized scooter.
  • Any house car 40 feet or less.

California law imposes the following restrictions on the use of a Class C non-commercial driver’s license:

  • You must be 18 or older to hold a job position as a driver.
  • You must obtain a commercial driver's license if you would like to become a truck or bus driver.
  • You must be 21 or older to transport materials across state lines or transport hazardous materials.